GSA Network Blog

August 24 Webinar & Call for Young LGBT Immigrants

Young LGBT Immigrants:  You may be eligible for immigration relief and work authorization!

On August 15, 2012, the Department of Homeland Security rolled out its new Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program which President Obama  announced in the Rose Garden two months ago.
Under DACA, eligible undocumented youth  under the age of 31 may be given a type of temporary permission to stay in the U.S. called “deferred action.” Deferred action will be valid for two years and may be renewed at the end of the two years.  Individuals who receive deferred action will receive employment authorization.

Join a webinar / call from Immigration Equality to find out if you are eligible to apply for deferred action and employment authorization!  Find out how to apply and resources available to assist you with your application!

Webinar / call information:

Date:  Friday, August 24 at 2 p.m. Eastern / 1 p.m. Central / Noon Mountain / 11 a.m. Pacific Time

Name of call:  Deferred Action for DREAMers

Webinar information:

  • Reserve your Webinar seat now at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/737026030. After registering you will receive a confirmation emailing containing information about joining the Webinar.
  • If you do not have computer access, you can simply call in toll free to: 1-877-273-4202, Conference Room: 9495854

Hosted by: CenterLink: The Community of LGBT Centers; Equality Federation; Immigration Equality; Lambda Legal; National Center for Lesbian Rights; National Council of La Raza; National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce; National Gay and Lesbian Task Force; and National Queer Asian Pacific Islander Alliance (NQAPIA).

Presented by: Laura Vazquez, Immigration Legislative Analyst, National Council of La Raza

Introduction by Rachel Tiven, Executive Director, Immigration Equality

Opening Remarks: Prerna Lal, “Undocuqueer”, Co-Founder, DreamActivist.org and Law Clerk, Benach Ragland LLP

For more information on DACA click here.
 

Find us on Facebook!